Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers and mother’s to be. It is an exciting thing being a mother, so it is nice to have a day dedicated to us Mommy’s so others can show us how much we are appreciated 😉 We deserve at least that right?

My Mother’s Day has been pretty quiet. Just me and my little man today. I have an almost 11 month old son,  A, who is the sweetest little guy. He is so pleasant, has a smile that could melt your ice cream, and sleeps through the night. He is a good boy. (God I hate that I even said that. But he is good….I just hate when strangers in the supermarket ask you if your child is a ”good” baby. I feel like asking them to define what they mean by good. Does he cry sometimes, of course…..so does that make him bad? Does he always listen to me? No, he is 11 months old. Again, is he bad? I always just nod politely and say “YES”). Anyways, back to my Mother’s Day. My husband was out of town all weekend so I didn’t get to sleep in or get pampered….my day started at 6:30am as usual. Not only that but A is teething pretty bad so he isn’t himself lately. A tad fussy and whiney and just gets mad over the strangest things. Not like him at all…it better be a phase that’s all I am saying. I sound tough but there really isn’t much I can do about it if it is not a phase now is there? I am not lying when I say there were a few times today I wished I was the one playing hockey this weekend. I live in a different province than my family so I don’t even have the luxury of support or help, or pawning A off at my parents house to get some time to myself.

I am sure I was told by many, just never believed it, but Motherhood is freakin’ hard work! Wow! It is never ending and you don’t get a break 😉 My hubby works shift work so I spend a fair amount of time alone with A. So I carry majority of the responsibility. It tests every ounce of patience you have, every fibre of your being and sometimes I feel like a horrible mother when I find myself screaming into my living room couch pillow, begging for my son to stop crying when he is fighting his nap. Come on, what mother hasn’t done that? ha! But I have come to realize over the last 11 months that that does not make me a bad mother. That makes me normal. I am not the only mother out there who gets frustrated. You just don’t hear those stories or read those statuses on Facebook very often though….most people only post or tell the cute and funny stories. Not the ones where you thought you’d end up bald because you were pulling all your hair out. Unless you have a best girl friend or sister (like I do) who you can call with the sole purpose of venting about your child. No judgement. If you don’t have that person, find one, because you need one. It may or may not be your husband. It’s nice to have someone on another (parent) team to vent to. Because this is damn hard work. But it is also the most rewarding. I wouldn’t change any of it for the world. You never truly understand this love until you have a baby of your own. Then everything changes and life as you knew it is, well, over. This is not a bad thing though, don’t get me wrong 😉

Why can’t everyday be Mother’s Day?

Hugs and smiles,

Sonya

5 thoughts on “Mother’s Day!

  1. Cheryl says:

    I agree Sonya…..you always here about warm and fuzziness of motherhood but you rarely hear the real truth….that it’s the hardest thing you will EVER do in your life, it can kick your ass on a daily basis and there are times you want to walk out the front door and never come back……but at the same time it’s the most fulfilling and rewarding thing you will ever do. So I guess it all works out in the end. Thanks for the truth….it’s refreshing to hear it straight from a mommy !!!

  2. Nicole says:

    Sorry you spent the day without your husband. But at least know you’ve spent it with the one person whom gave you the gift of having this day. Next time feel free to call or message and we can get together if you need someone. I’m often alone with Norah too so I know what you go through and it is tough! You’re a good mom though.

  3. mommysmiles says:

    You are right Cheryl, it works itself out in the end because there will be good days and bad 😉 Nicole, you are 100% right, there was no one else on this earth I would have rathered spend yesterday with than my little guy. He is my everything. It was just a bit rough where he is a bit irritable these past few days. Thanks! You are a good mother too 😉 We will get together soon!

  4. mommysmiles says:

    Hi Heather! Thanks for your comment! I am sure you can relate then, it is hard! Because even on his days off he needs rest for his body to get over the day to night shift rotation. So I never get any days off . I guess the positive thing is I get to spend that much more time with my son 😉

Leave a Reply

