All in good health

Hi!

Happy Friday!

Well, the bubble has burst! My son hasn’t even spent a full day at daycare and already he has his first ever runny nose and phlegmy cough. He doesn’t have a fever yet, but we’ll see. Oh good ol’ baby germs! They spread like wildfire. He barely napped yesterday because of course, when you are congested it is always worse when you are lying down. I  guess he realized that sleeping and not being able to breathe through your nose does not make for a comfortable rest. Last night he was up almost every two hours, and at 4am I had to feed and rock him (which I haven’t done since he was 3 months old) and he pretty much fell asleep sitting up in my arms. Today isn’t much better….overall, he is in pretty good spirits, just a bit sooky and wanting to be up in Mommy’s arms. Which doesn’t bother me, I will take extra cuddles whenever I can 😉 

It’s hard watching your baby sick or in pain. Their bodies just seem too small to have to fight off anything! I feel so helpless. Too bad Mommy hugs weren’t a miracle drug. My little guy would be immune from illness for life 😉 At 4am, when I was holding A, I was staring at his beautiful little face, willing him with my magic Mommy mind to get better. Snap! Didn’t work (if only it were that easy). I told him that I would take it away from him if I could, so that I’d be the one sick. Then I got to thinking about how this is only a common cold and I hate watching A suffer through it. It makes me sad that he doesn’t feel 100%. Imagine how it must feel for parents whose child has a serious, or heaven forbid, life threatening illness? I can’t even imagine it. My husband is currently raising money in support of the Make A Wish foundation, in hopes of helping a 3 year old boy get his wish of meeting Mickey Mouse. This little boy has been fighting cancer for 2 years, 2 years – he is only 3 years old!! It breaks my heart. No child should have to fight that battle. No child should have to go through that, and no parent should either. My heart goes out to all families with a sick member, especially an infant. I am sure if you asked any parent of a sick child if they would switch places with their child, they would. I know that if I were in that situation, I would….gladly. Life can sometimes be unfair, that is for sure.

Without going into too many personal details, I will tell you that only a few hours after our son was born we had a scare. I thought the hard part (aka delivery) was over, turns out I was wrong. It had only just begun. With his first birthday approaching, I think about how the day he was born was the best and the scariest day of my life. Our little A stopped breathing several times and had the doctors stumped….so stumped that he had to be air lifted to a nearby hospital that specialized in children’s care. A spent the first 5 days of his life in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU). He spent more time with the NICU nurses than with his own Mother. I remember being afraid he wouldn’t be able to tell the difference between me and a nurse. My husband reassured me that he just knew. He did. It was the scariest time of my life, and the entire time I kept thinking, please please please let him be okay….OR take me instead.

A was only in the NICU for 5 days (but I wish we had never been there at all) but I consider myself lucky because there were parents there whose babies had a long road ahead of them. Months even! Some babies there had been born 10-12 weeks premature. You could fit their entire bodies in the palm of your hand. As families, we got to know one another in the NICU. I’d love to see some of those babies today to see how much they have grown in a year 😉

So although I HATE that my son is sick, I am relieved that it is only with a cold. I tell myself as I wipe his runny nose that it could be worse. I am one of the lucky ones……and I can only hope and pray that I stay that way.

Hugs & Smiles,

Sonya

p.s. Sorry for any tears this post may have brought on. xo

3 thoughts on “All in good health

  1. Melissa says:

    A few tears but I have to say I love your posts and look forward to every one. Now I must go clean while all my kiddies sleep ;D

Leave a Reply

