Ready or not….can I come in?

Hello!

Happy Thursday!

Long time no blog. I haven’t been overly busy, just busy living. Going through the motions of day to day life. I get up early with my babe, get him ready for daycare and me ready for work. Drop him off, work for 8 hours, pick him up, get supper. Then it’s playtime, errand time (since I can’t run them during the day anymore), bath time for A, then bedtime. Then it is quiet time for Mommy! Which includes doing dishes, writing emails, maybe reading and bedtime. EARLY bedtime. Lately I have been working out in the evenings too so honestly, why are there only 24 hours in the day? Who can I talk to about this??

While I go about rushing through the day, A is rushing through growing up! He got his first haircut last weekend. He was born with wild hair. At two days old in the hospital, the nurse was giving him a mohawk. It became his trademark. Oh I loved it! Barely any hair on the sides, yet blonde almost- curls on the top that had a mind of their own. But over the last little while he developed hockey hair. Curls on the back that stuck out under his hat. The top was so long it almost looked like a comb over. And in this heat, it was always matted to his head. But damn, was it cute. So before I lost my nerve, I brought him to the salon, gave him some snacks and fruit, and let the woman use her scissors. I didn’t cry but I swear I had the same feeling in my stomach as when he had his first vaccinations. I wanted to yell ‘STOP’, even though I knew it had to be done. The outcome? Initially I was calling him baldy. But I adjusted rather quickly. He  looks snow white, his hair is so light. But he looks even cuter! I never thought it was possible. He just looks older. It was another reminder that my baby is now a little boy. 

In addition to his new hair cut, A had his first ear infection last week. I knew there was something wrong (again, Mommy knows best ;-)). Sure, we tried to chalk his symptoms up to teething, but he was too “off” for it just to be teething. 4 hours waiting in the walk in clinic and the doctor confirmed my suspicion. I should have been a doctor! ha! 

So a hair cut, ear infection, two molars breaking through…A is on a roll! He has started to repeat everything we say. He is into everything! I feel like I am saying NO to him all the time. Stay out of the fridge, get out from underneath the table, don’t touch this, don’t touch that. Danger. Don’t touch the garbage. Don’t eat that. He certainly keeps us on our toes. Speaking of toes, I brought out his socks the other day and he took one from my hand and tried to put it on himself. Seriously! I was shocked! How does he, at 13 months, know what a sock is!  Yes, he wears them everyday, but I didn’t think he noticed stuff like that. My baby MUST be a genius!! haha. I was so proud. I swear, I felt like he won gold at the Olympics. He just surprises me everyday…..doing things that I don’t think he’s old enough to be doing. But I guess he is.

Yesterday he crawled down the hall, went into his bedroom and closed the door behind him. I laughed, tried to open the door, but he was sitting behind it, keeping me out (and laughing). Here I was, knocking on my 13 month old’s bedroom door saying ‘Can I come in?” There is something seriously wrong with that. I swear I fast forwarded years into the future. I was afraid that when I opened the door, my little guy in diapers wouldn’t be sitting behind the door laughing, but instead there’d be a long haired, droopy drawers, acne faced pre-teen there instead. But nope, there he was. His cute 13 month old self…..sucking on a clean diaper he had pulled from his change table. That moment was another reminder to me that my little boy will be a big boy before I know it. Soon 13 years will have passed and he won’t want to kiss me, cuddle me, or even hold long conversations with me. Soon enough I’ll be begging him to cut his hair and to pick his socks up off the floor and keep the door open when there’s a girl in the room. And I thought he kept me on my toes now!

As I say almost every post, time goes by way too fast. But one thing I have noticed is that as time goes by and as A grows, I swear so does my heart. Will that feeling every go away?I have my doubts, but I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

 

Hugs & Smiles,

 

Sonya

6 thoughts on “Ready or not….can I come in?

Leave a Reply

