Mommy made a Boo Boo

Hello!

Happy Saturday!

Since having A I find myself doing gross things that for some reason don’t gross me out. For example eating partially chewed food that he doesn’t want. Yes, I’ve done it. I wouldn’t do it for anyone else, but yeah, I am guilty of it. I’m sure I’m not the only mother who has. I hope not anyways. Your child is eating yogurt, half a spoonful ends up on his chin. You take your finger to wipe it away, and you lick your finger without even thinking. A cookie falls out of his mouth, also lands on his chin. You are nowhere near a tissue or a garbage, so you just eat it. Okay, now that I am openly admitting this stuff, I am second guessing my idea of what is gross. Anyways, that stuff typically doesn’t gross me out. But something that happened yesterday certainly did.

You know in the movies when something gross happens they tend to show it in slow motion so you get the full effect. You screw up your face and want to turn away but at the same time you can’t bring yourself to actually do it. Well I had a real life moment like that yesterday. It happened in slow motion but before I knew what was happening it was too late. I couldn’t press fast forward either and there was no way I would want to press rewind or pause. 

A has a runny nose. Yesterday, I made myself a bowl of fresh fruit and yogurt, A took my spoon and wanted to have some. Sure, we can share! He was putting the spoon to his mouth and I took my left hand and wiped his runny nose with my finger (it was about to touch his lip, I had to, that’s just a sin!!) anyways, he got yogurt all over his mouth so with my right hand I wiped some away. So boogers on my left hand finger, yogurt on my right. I know what you are thinking “OH NO!!”. Well ladies and gentleman, OH YES. I was too late. It was already happening before I had a chance to stop it. I put my LEFT finger to my mouth to lick off the yogurt- except it wasn’t yogurt was it. I ate boogers. GROSS. I almost threw up. Food is one thing, but nasal secretions? I guess my nose will be running soon too. Kinda invevitable when you literally EAT the germs, right?

So yeah, there you have it. I should have waited to get a tissue (instead of wiping and then going to get a tissue). At least then the boogers would have made their way to his own mouth, not mine.  I’ll know for next time. At least he enjoyed my yogurt.

I must go, my mouth wash is calling.

Hugs & Smiles

Sonya

 

Leave a Reply

