Hush little baby…..

Hello!

Happy Tuesday!

Any parent knows what it is like to be sleep deprived. For some, the sleep deprivation stage ends much sooner than for others. Some parents like to brag that their child started sleeping through the night at 8 weeks (I may or may not be flipping all of you the bird). Well, my 11 month old son is the most unpredictable sleeper. Some nights he wakes once or twice for a quick cuddle, or his nummy, or he is on his belly and caught in the corner of the crib and needs rescuing. Other nights, like the last two, he has slept through. Didn’t make a sound for 11 or 12 hours straight. But for every night he sleeps through, I have to pay tendfold. For 4 nights in a row this past week I got less than 3.5 hours sleep. Not even in a row. I’d be in and out of his room every 5 minutes. The second he was settled, I would creep back to my bed, get in, gently lay my head on the pillow that didn’t have time to lose my head dent, and he’d be crying again. One night, 264 times. One night he just decided to stay awake for two hours. Awesome buddy, let’s cuddle and chat and talk about how the one thing in the world Mommy hates is sleep.

Not only has he made it a habit of waking up a lot at night, his day starts early too. Oh yes, 5:20am after being up all night and he’s ready to go. Morning one, I sighed and got up and went in with a smile (after all, he’s cute). Morning two, it took me a little bit longer as I didn’t have much energy and had to literally drag my right foot along the floor as I made my way to his room. I still smiled as I opened his door. Morning three, my smile had faded. My husband had to work a day shift (and was on call as of 5am) so not only was he unable to help overnight but I couldn’t even nap during the day. It’s a horrible feeling being up all night knowing that for the next 15 hours there was no way you’d get any rest. So by morning four, after being up too many times, I started to cry when he woke for the day. I did. I cried. I was cranky as hell. I was snapping at my hubby as he got ready for work. I snapped at my 3.5 year old and poor Camryn didn’t get the best of me that day either. I was exhausted. Drained. But that doesn’t matter because both boys needed me. Sleep or no sleep, my day had to go on.

Some days are uneventful, long and boring when you’re tired and spend the hours counting down to bedtime. Others are very eventful. Today was a day when I am glad I was rested. Not only did I feel human, but I was in a good mood and not letting little things bother me. This is a good thing because when Aiden came running over to me holding a bottle of Febreeze, rubbing his eye, saying “Mommy, I sprayed this in my eyes, but it hurts so don’t you do it!” I remained calm and immediately rushed him to the bathroom to flush his eyes (which are fine by the way). Then when he told me his mouth tasted yucky (and smelled flowery), I realized I should probably rinse his mouth out too. The tired me would have freaked and not known what to do. I would have read the back of the bottle and seen in bold letters ‘DO NOT SPRAY DIRECTLY IN FACE’ and panicked. I probably would have cursed. Or maybe the floral scent would have put me to sleep, who knows. The point is, it was a good thing I was alert enough to deal with this.

The fun continued at bath time when Camryn took a bucket of water and poured it over his face, and got a mouth full. He started coughing and choking and turning red. As I picked him up and leaned him forward and started pounding on his back, he threw up. Everywhere. Water, and everything else in his belly. What a fright! All I kept thinking was what if that water had went into his lungs and I’d have to rush him to the ER. A minute later, Aiden comes running in yelling “BATH TIME!”, strips off his clothes and crawls into the tub by himself, while I am there holding Camryn (making sure he is okay). Aiden starts licking the bath water. Yes, the bath water that Camryn just puked in. I tell him to stop and he says he is trying to get the flower taste out of his mouth. I tell him again to stop. He doesn’t. I had a choice, either I could tell him that Camryn just threw up in the water and deal with him freaking out because he was licking the dirty water (hey, I may have gotten more than 3.5 hours sleep the night before but there was no way in hell I was in the mood to deal with a tantrum. Not if I could help it!!) OR sternly tell him that if he didn’t stop licking the water, bath time was over (which was risky because more than likely it would result in a tantrum too). But that is what I did. I gave him three tries to stop licking the water and he never, so I took him out. What I didn’t consider until now was leaving him in. HAHA! Don’t judge me. He’d already had a few good licks of the pukey water, what harm would it have done leaving him for a few more minutes? 😉

Camryn has been sleeping through the night for the past two nights. He’s done this before….which means any night it will end. His unpredictability sucks because every night I sit on pins and needles, waiting and wondering if he’ll wake up. I pretty much hold my breath all night long, hoping that monitor doesn’t go off. I am hoping he’ll get into a routine soon and start sleeping through EVERY night so I can feel like a human being on a daily basis. He needs to do it not just for me, but for himself and his brother too. I mean, I have to be prepared to handle any and all situations, right? I can’t have him spraying Febreeze in his face or eating pukey bath water too, now can I? 😉 No. I can’t. We all need our rest, sweet boy. So hush little baby, don’t say a word………

Hugs & Smiles,

Sonya

Leave a Reply

